Littering devastates our oceans

Littering is so bad because animals can eat plastic, cans or anything that’s actually our rubbish! My teacher showed Room 6 a picture of a turtle’s shell caught in a plastic ring. It grew but the plastic made his shell deformed and he couldn’t go inside it. This made me sad and mad.

 Once at my grandma’s house there was lots of rubbish so I went to pick it up. Now my grandma’s house is all tidy. At school we are becoming aware of our litter around and we pick up so much everyday. Yesterday I found 13 pieces of plastic! It’s getting better at school but we have to keep doing this and telling people how bad it is for our environment.

Last month I went to the beach with my family for my baby cousin’s birthday and I saw rubbish and so I picked up 20 pieces of rubbish and I was so proud of myself for picking up the rubbish and saving innocent sea animals from dying. Hopefully my cousins saw what I was doing and will all do this whenever they see litter.

The Great Pacific Garbage Patch is a collection of litter that has ended up in the ocean. It is so big and just like this because people around the world don’t care and years of litter have ended up there! In the Great Pacific Garbage Patch, over 100,000 marine mammals and one million  sea birds die every year! Come on – we have to do something to save our planet!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *